Need Help for My Girlfriend

Hi guys,

I need help for my girlfriend’s training. She is 19 year old, with totally no sports background and very skinny. I really wished to help her gain mass. But, there are some serious problems that i encountered.

1. She refuses to lift more weights
    Any idea how to get her to that?

2. I dont really have an idea how to train a total beginner, like a good plan that dont kill her that easily.

Because I come from swimming background, lifting weight are not much of a problem to me. Sometimes, i get really impatient with her! haha but i understand because of 19 without sports, it’s really hard to get her started.

Any help is really appreciated :slight_smile:

A few things:

1. Does she want to gain mass? Maybe she does, maybe she doesn’t, maybe she doesn’t know that gaining mass/lifting weights will get her the body type of some famous celebrities she might already envy for their bodies. Ask her what she thinks is attractive in a fit woman. Perhaps look at some pictures of famous women with her(everyone always uses Jessica Alba for an example here) and talk about their body types and that they lift weights.

2. You’re going to have to explain to her that just because she lifts weights does NOT mean she will automatically balloon up and look like a bodybuilder. Unless she is accidentally sitting on syringes filled with human growth hormone it won’t happen. Trust me, the fit women on this site spend years and years to look like they do. Just because she starts bench pressing does not mean she’ll start looking like a man! Most women have this misconception and use it as an excuse. In order to look like a body builder you have to train ridiculously hard, eat the right foods in huge amounts. Put an end to this misconception, this is probably your main problem.