T Nation

Need Good Advice Please

Hi all. I started training about 3 years ago and everything was going well. I then got a concussion and I couldn't lift for a long time. Id get really dizzy and lifting was not a real option for me until i got better. In this time, ive gained a lottt of weight, and not healthy. I'm 5'7 and 190 pounds. I used to weigh 170. Im not too worried about the weight per se, but I know little, or any of it is muscle gains.

I recently started working out again, but I'm a bit lost and need advice on the direction I should be heading in. I know that I should gain more muscle before attempting any type of cut, but at the same time, I feel as if I need to lose the fat that ive gained, or at least some of it.
I don't know what type of workouts I should be performing in the gym... Ive been lifting for a couple months now, but not seeing any real changes. My diet is mostly clean, but Ive been changing my workouts and lifting without any direction.

I am thinking of just losing the weight and starting a bulk once I lose it, but is it better to train for hypertrophy? Should I still be looking to add more muscle, even though ive gained so much fat?

(sorry. i don’t know what i’m talking about heh.)

what are you goals? read the stickies

google stronglifts 5x5, i would suggest you try his 12 week trial, you get to start off with just the weight of the bar to practice form, and fairly quickly get to build up by adding 5 lbs every workout. this way you can feel out how your head reacts to lifting during squats and deadlifts. remember to breath when you lift.

At 5’7" 190lbs, you can’t be that bad off. Most people in your situation do best on a strength program and maybe just a little cardio (but for heart health reasons, not necessarily for weight loss). Once you build some muscle, dieting will be TONS easier.