T Nation

Need an Ab Routine

Im a Pl and an amateur MMA fighter...

on sunday i attempted a PR squat of 315 and nailed it but in the process tore one of my middle abdominal muscles. Also sometimes when i dead my abs feel like they are about to tear. I dont want a six-pack, my bf is too high for that, i just want strong abs and know next to nothing about really strengthening the abs...thanx

Well, you just mentioned two great exercises for building strong abs.

Others I can think of are hanging leg lifts, situps on an incline, and the vacuum pose.

I never usually touch machines but would they be of any use??

Get the wheel of death (ab wheel)- they are great.

Shugs did a review of them not too long ago.

i dont know what an ab wheel is or if my wrestling gym even has one, can you post a pic??

Other great ab exercises: Russian twists, Janda situps, dragon flags.

Bab,

an abdominal wheel will cost you like $5...or you can make your own from a lawnmower wheel, and stick two handles on the sides. just make sure your abs are healed befroe you use this.

since you're a fighter, you definately want to do some rotation stuff...like Russian Twists, or lying leg twists (which i prefer).

personally, i do not like most gym ab machines....the range of motion is kinda wierd. just depends on the user...

Just google "ab wheel". You can get them just about anywhere. I got mine at Kmart.

Ab wheel (fancy double wheel version).

Anyone try doing sit ups with legs flat on the floor (not anchored)? I am not sure if center of gravity would effect a mans ability to do these (I am a woman and have a lower center of gravity) seeing as men are moretopheavy...all jokes aside. Roman twists are amazing as are leg raises. Planks are great for the afterburn... I havent tried an ab roller yet, but you can use a swiss ball towalk out` until only the tips of your toes are on the ball, do a few push ups, and roll back.

Abs are so much fun...deads, ATG squats...so many things....

e