T Nation

Need Advice, Semi-Newbie

First, a short intro. I started lifting when I realized I was getting too fat, I asked a bunch of questions about lifting from the coaches and some of the guys that seemed like they knew what they were doing. Many questions and days later I found myself here and now on these forums still asking questions. I’ve read about a dozen articles, but I’m gonna need some advice on these.

I know I’m suppose to eat healthy and mass protein, but I’m a poor college student :(. I’m only 20, so I’m still living with my parents and I am trying to gain strength. I’ve seen increases in weight, but they are way too slow, ex: 30 lbs on squat in a year. I realized my problem is my diet, but I don’t know how to get the right about of protein in my diet without breaking my wallet. I’ve requested that my parents buy healthier, but even though they agree they should, I find chocolate fudge-crap-filled-shit and food that has at least 20 grams of fat in it, but there is nothing else to eat.

Is there any suggestions that could help me gain mass with only $65-$75 dollars per week in food\supplements? My long term goals (aka about 8-10 years) consist of sub-bodybuilder goals. Such as 400 lbs bench, 750 deadlift, 325 lbs pulldown, 225 shoulder press, and many more, but those are just numbers you can imagine where I want the rest of my body to go.

I am not a complete newbie and I was just wondering if I should just do a workout to keep what I have now until I move out\have enough money for a proper diet, or should I start now. Sorry for the long post, please help.

Attachment of current maxes:
Benchpress 230 lbs
Dumbbell Benchpress (each arm) 105 lbs
Incline Benchpresss 175 lbs
Deadlift 360 lbs
Squats 325 lbs
Lunges 125 lbs
Powercleans 225 lbs
Dumbbell Curls (one arm) 55 lbs
Tricep Extensions (one arm) 60 lbs
Leg Extensions (each leg) 190 lbs
Shrugs 275 lbs
Dumbell Shrugs (each arm) 125 lbs
One Legged Press (Machine) 315 lbs
Weighted Pulldowns 250 lbs