Need Advice on Gym Equipment

Hey guys,

I find my self having less time latly to get to the gym since my wife got pregnant and the new job. So I thought I would invest in some gym equipment that I could use at home. I have been doing alot of reading on this site for a few years now and I have found a large range of excersises that I can do with just dumbbells and still target all areas of my body.

So I am looking for some advice on what brands and where to get some one handed bars and about 200 pounds of plates to use with those bars. I have a small 25 pounder that I use at work in between calls since I have a desk job, but I find all the areas I am working on my body with that 25 pound dumbbell are becomming too used to the weight.

So any advice you can give would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Atrumblood

Hi Atrumblood,
I’m exactly the same way. I train strictly at home. I would suggest powertec and maybe some used machines. I have a powertec rack with pulldown and row attachment, a powertec squat machine, treadmill, and I’ve just added a Nautilus Superpullover. I also have a variety of dumbbells and kettlebells. This whole setup cost about 3 grand but well worth it. I would shop and see what’s available. Alot of used commercial machines are out there at a reasonable price.

HomeGym

Thanks, I will look into that.

You have same avatar as Vegita, a long-time poster here.

I have:
1 squat rack, with bench and a pulley
1 210 kg bumper set
rubber floors
2 olympic bars with over 1000 lbs in plates
1 standard bar and dumbbell handles with about 300 lbs in plates

cost me about $1400

Oh hmmm. I’ll see if I can find another avatar, plus I will be posting alot more on here. I am going to be following a diet and workout plan by *John Berardi (*not sure if i spelled that right). So I am most likely going to start a journal.

Check out Elite Fitness and Ironmind. Both have quality equipment.

ok thanks for the tip. ill check em out.