T Nation

Need Advice, Need to Gain

Ok, I am having problems. I have been lifting for two years or so, with minimal success. I weigh about 70kg, but it seems no matter how much I lift, I just don’t pack on any muscle or strength.

I’ve come to the conclusion that all of my conclusions are wrong and I need to start over from scratch. I am utterly confused with the information I have been finding, and even more confused when I read articles that just seem to completely contradict each other.

Here is my situation: I am not big. I wanna get stronger and bigger on a relatively constant basis. I also live in Japan and work at an awful gym because gyms here are like 100$ a month, which I don’t have to spend.

So far, I have been doing the Big Boy Basics plan on this site, and am feeling positive about it. I don’t want to be all huge, I just want to have some muscles to show, plus some strength so I don’t feel like the weak man I am as of now.

My diet is most likely awful, and I also need help with this. I don’t really know how to cook, nor what to cook. Many of the foods here do not have nutritional labels on them, so counting calories and fat intake is difficult, plus, I wouldn’t even know how to really do that if it was there. I think this is really my worst problem.

If anyone who lives in Japan and lifts can give me some advice, that would be great! For those who haven’t been here before, a lot of the food is the same, but they don’t really have ovens, so things like baked chicken are out of the question I think.

So if anyone has any advice about these topics, or know which articles are perfect for my situation, your advice would be invaluable. Thanks!

bump

1. fix your diet.
  2. What does your training plan look like?

Want to grow? Eat more and sleep more. Lifting comes next. You can have the most well designed workout on the planet and without those two things you’ll never grow.