Need Advice From The Brotherhood

Like a lot of use here at T-Nation, I am a “muscle head,” or more accurately a lifter as opposed to a bodybuilder, or semi-pro athlete. I’ve been training for about 8 years, but didn’t get real serious about it until about 5.5-6 years ago.

Back in February my best friend of about the last 15years John, was diagnosed with a form of lung cancer. John and I are still in college (we’re both workin’ on our 7th year of it) and naturally John doesn’t have health insurance…long story short I’ve decided I’m going to participate in a “cancer run” or benefit type marathon where people pledge so much money and part of it goes to helping cancer patients & research.

But here’s the catch, I do know how train towards a bigger/stronger body… I don’t know how to train towards running 50 miles in a morning/afternoon.

Normally I run as a warm up before lifting, just to get the heart pumping, or on non-lifting days doing some HIT. Never in either case running very far, i.e. a long Cardio day would be a 3-5 mile, or 1.5 miles at max effort. Even as a Marine (until a knee surgery) I never ran more than about 10-12 miles.

So that being said, I’d like to open the flood-gates and build a training regiment to (hopefully for one time only) run a marathon to help out my best friend. So if you have experience with marathon/tri-athelons, etc. fire at will. Post it or PM. Hell, you never know, maybe we could score some good notes from Waterbury, TC, Shugart, and the rest of the T-Nation crew.

a Marathon is just over 26 miles, not 50. So your goal has been cut in half!

Believe it’s great you’re doing this to help your friend. I participated in my first marathon last year at age 50. I believe if you train with the intention to finish as opposed to running it hard you can do it with a fairly small impact on your lifting.