T Nation

Need Advice For a Split

I’ve been training for 5 years and believe it or not, have only done full body workouts. The main reason was because, hell, I just liked them and with my schedule it was the most convenient and efficient way to workout. I would change parameters every 6 weeks or so, in order to avoid adaptation.
I was looking to shock my body and try a split routine through the Summer but honestly, I don’t know where to start.
Any advise on a good routine…I’m all ears.

Stats:
40 yo
6’2"
213 lbs
about 15% bf and looking to get leaner for Summer.

I know I could do a search, but God knows, I’ll be reading forever if I type in “split routine” in the search option.

Thanks in advance.

Matt

I started with fullbody workouts, then I did EDT for 6 weeks… then I started a MWF split, with an optional day on the weekend (if I can make it in)

I posted this in the training split autopsy and never got a critique…

Mon-Legs/Core
Squat
Leg Press
Calf Raises
Russian Twist
Cable Crunches
Leg Raises
Planks

Wed-Chest, Tri, Shoulders
Weighted Dips
30 Degree Incline DB Press
Standing DB OH Press
DB Lateral Raises
Tricep Pressdowns

Fri-Back, Bis
Sumo DL or Rack pulls (alternating)
Weighted Pull-ups
Chest Supported Rows
EZ Bar Curls

Optional Day
Cleans, Snatches, or High Pulls… just go in and do whatever…

I personally like this split. Never got criticism for it, but would like to hear any if available…

Any particular rep/set scheme?
thanks

btw, I’m looking for hypertrophy, at this stage. I’ll be on a lesser caloric diet to slowly lose the fat, but not too extreme.

I’m basically looking to figure which muscle groups to pair and a set/rep range. I can figure out which exercises to do.

[quote]kurmatt wrote:
btw, I’m looking for hypertrophy, at this stage. I’ll be on a lesser caloric diet to slowly lose the fat, but not too extreme.

I’m basically looking to figure which muscle groups to pair and a set/rep range. I can figure out which exercises to do.

[/quote]