T Nation

Need Advice and Motivation

Hello everyone,
I'm looking for some advice on what to focus on. I'm 20, about 6 foot even, 170 lbs. I've been lifting off and on for a few years. My problem seems to be a lack of motivation and commitment.

I'll start a program and it'll peter out after a few weeks and i'll change my mind and try something else. I can't choose between trying to gain weight, or trying to cut. I think I have pretty small arms and generally lack muscle, so I would want to bulk up. But I also have a fair amount of fat in my opinion, mostly in the abdominal area.

I can't decide between bulking or cutting. I want to be bigger because I have little arms, but i want to be smaller because I have too much bodyfat. Any comments, opinions, and advice is appreciated. Thanks in advance!

How about you try to correct your habits and establish some consistency before you make any decisions about what direction to take your body? If you can't even stick with a program, then decisions like whether to bulk or cut are useless to you, since you won't follow through.

Follow Berardi's 7 habits article and a basic program like Big Boy Basics for 8 weeks. This is your only goal. Chances are you'll see improvements in both directions (more muscle, less fat). If you can actually stick with it for this time period, then maybe you'll be in a position to make some longer term goals.

Here are the links:

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459533

http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459493

The main problem why I can't stick with a program is because I decide I'd be better off doing the opposite of what I happen to be doing at that time. Like I'll be "bulking" and then I'll wake up one morning and look in the mirror and just be like okay I dont like what I see and so i'll change it around and start to cut instead.