Need a Poor Man's Diet

Hey everyone! I am in dire need of a good nutrition plan that will help me gain muscle but is also inexpensive. I am a graduate student at the University of Illinois and have very little living expenses. I am looking to spend somewhere around 50 dollars a week on food. I really like the sample diet Dr. Berardi posted on here that mentioned his Scrawny to Brawny book, but I just can’t afford that much quality food.

If anyone can help with a sample diet plan I would be greatly appreciative. It doesn’t even matter if it’s the same meals every day. Thanks!

I don’t know how amazing my diet plan is, but I think it’s fairly cheap. This is what I eat every day.

Breakfast:
4 eggs
1 scoop Grow! with 8 oz. of milk
(considering looking into rolled oats, as I hear they are good for breakfast and are cheap)

Lunch:
Chicken breast
1 cup rice
PB sandwich or scoop of PB
8 oz. milk

Lunch 2:
Repeat

Mid-Afternoon:
PB sandwich
1 scoop Grow! Whey with 8 oz. of milk

Dinner:
Varies every day (im 16 so I can’t choose). I would advise some kind of protein source you can find cheap. Usually my biggest meal.

Night:
Cottage cheese if I have any, if not more PB with milk or water.

Mix veggies and fruits in throughout the day.

I’m in the same boat as you, I need cheap food so this is what I came up with. Im sure it’s nowhere near perfect, but it gives a good amount of protein/calories.

Milk is cheap. So is chicken.

It’s strange that you’re in need of such a spartan diet plan, while Biotest list you as one of their top 20,000 purchasers…

[quote]duffyj2 wrote:
Milk is cheap. So is chicken.

It’s strange that you’re in need of such a spartan diet plan, while Biotest list you as one of their top 20,000 purchasers…[/quote]

Nothing against the sponsor of this fine website, but given how much Biotest cost, I don’t think it strange at all!:wink: