T Nation

Need a Form Critic

Hi everyone,

I have been training since 8 years but since 2 month, i'm training like a powerlifter(sheiko for now) I did a max day (squat, bench and deadlift) and i filmed myself and i would like your critic on my form. I saw some weakness already but i would like your opinions. If you have some trick to get it better at the same time, it could be very useful.
Here is the video

Major things I noticed:

Quit breaking with your knees first in the squat. Break at the hips and sit back. Also, your hips are rising too fast out of the hole.

Keep your ass on the bench while benching, and keep your wrists straighter.

Get your ass a bit lower when you set up for your deadlift. Your hips are already too high when you begin the movement, and they rise too quick. You're almost at a SLDL, you can get a lot more leg drive.

Watch the "So you think you can bench?" and "So you think you can squat?" videos on EFS. Dave Tate also has a very good deadlift video on youtube.

Thank you for the comment, it's very helpfull. I'll watch those video of EFS!

I have to say I was impressed with your depth on the 350 squat. Your form could definitely use some work, however. Try spreading your hands out some more on the bar. Your shoulders are getting too jacked up, causing you to lose some control of the bar on the way down.

Before the start of your eccentric phase(downward movement), brace your core as if you were going to take a punch. Then, control the weight down slowly. If you come down rapidly, it will cause you to crash at the bottom and can shear your knees over time. Always try to maintain proper lumbar extension, and hamstring tightness. Explode the weight skyward as you start the concentric phase, driving from your hips.

I don't usually comment on this type of thread anymore, but IMO relative to your squatting style you have gotten some bad advice.