Need A Dumbell-Only Workout

I’ve been training for about four years with great sucess following some of the programs on this site.

However, I am soon to become a student again and cannot afford a gym or any home gym equipment other than two humble dumbells. They are decent and adaptable, so I can put lots of weight on them.

So, I need to design a program solely around them and nothing else. Upper body is the easier part, however I am unsure of how to do the legs and most importantly, integrate the two into a sensible and effective workout…

Can anyone help?

Any thing you can do with a bar you can do with dumbbells even for legs, just not quite as much weight. Squats, hold the dumbells at your side or hoist them up to your shoulders and squat. Leg curls hold one dumbbell with your feet/ankles, Stiff leg deadlifts, deadlifts, lunges, same just holding the bells instead of the bar.

D

Step ups, split squats single leg dead lifts will hit your legs pretty well.

look at different bodyweight and KB moves/complexes you can sub the kettlebell to a dunbell in most cases. Zach Even-Esh has a ton of info on elitefts about this type of training. also maybe look into getting a sandbag (easily can be made and CHEAP)

Chad Waterbury wrote something not too long ago that was something like ‘30 days to more mass’ with all unilateral & dumbbell/bodyweight exercises.

have a look, at least at the exercises:
http://www.T-Nation.com/readArticle.do?id=1596243

And I gotta second the call for bulgarian split squats. I find them an absolute killer.

Good luck, keep training.

CW also has a dumbbell complex in his ‘Blood on the Barbell’ article

http://www.T-Nation.com/readArticle.do?id=1579811