T Nation

Neck Training

Alright, i’m opening this topic in order to get a discussion going as far as neck training is conerned.
Personally i started training neck directly a few months ago. I use two excercises with free weights and they’re opposing movements actually.

The one is where i lay down on a bench with my head and neck hanging and placing weight plates on my forehead i push my head until as close to my body as possible and then stretch all the way back.
The other one is the same, albeit i’m laying on my chest against the bench.

I usually perform 5 sets each and my rep range is somewhere beteween 12-18.
I use 35-45 lb for the first one and 25-35lb for the second.

What about you? How do you train your neck? At what frequency? Which excercises do you utilize? etc etc…

I incorporate some wrestler neck bridges and deadlifts. Neither is an isolation exercise, but my neck seems to be getting bigger.

I am sure there are some wrestlers, martial artists, football players, and boxers on this website that have a lot of useful exercises for the neck. Those athletes often train to neck to help avoid collision injuries or just getting knocked out.

Shrugs and deadlifts

Well shrugs and deadlifts hit the neck but more like at the bottom next to the upper traps.
The reason i include neck isolation excercises is both for strength and size, as well as keeping my neck injury free.
It’s got quite bigger since i started incorporating these excercises but i want it to become even bigger and stronger. Just like any other muscle i’ve noticed that you gain a lot of strength very fast when you perform excercises you didn’t use to. So i believe neck isolation is good for one more reason for those who have so far skipped iso.
My main question is to those who do work their neck muscles directly. I’m looking for some advice for better results.

you could do the same thing you’re doing now, but also add in some side work