"Neanderthin" diet

A friend gave me a copy of “Neanderthin” by Ray Audette and seems to be a pretty good book. It falls under the heading of “lax keotgenic” (if there were such a heading-just stay with me, ok?) diet by admonishing all starch carbs (pasta, 'taters, rice, grains, yada yada) and eating a truckload of meat, eggs, veggies and some fruit and nuts to go with it. I’m giving it a try and feel pretty good on it so far (I get massive headaches on keto diets). I was just wondering who else has had luck with this way of eating and could tell me about it.

I’ve been eating like this for about 4 years now with great success. I’m diabetic, so this is the best way for me to limit my carb intake. I’ve never read the Neanderthin book, but it sounds like a common low carb diet. The best part about this diet is that it is easy to follow. I can still eat in restaurants. I just get veggies as a side instead of rice or a potato. I eat a lot of nuts for snacks. In less than a year I went from 258 lbs 33% bf with a 40 inch waist to 210 lbs. 9-10% bf with a 33 inch waist (I’m 6’1"). It’s been relatively easy to maintain muscle. You tend to lose inches faster than weight, so I didn’t use the scale to gauge my progress.