NC Labor Laws

Here’s the deal:

My gf got a new job about 2 weeks ago, but was just told by her employer (she works at a restaurant FWIW) that she won’t be getting her first paycheck for another 5-6 weeks. I used to be pretty good about knowing labor laws since I was a manager in this type of business, but I can’t recall the exact laws on this area off the top of my head. Also, I’m aware that some of these things vary from state to state quite a bit. Anyhow, she needs to come up with $$$ for bills within 2 weeks, so 5-6 weeks won’t cut it as far as that goes.

I’ve done my best to find the labor laws pertaining to her situation in NC, to no avail thus far. Anyone here know this stuff well? I’m pretty damn sure what they’re doing is illegal, but can’t prove it until I find a law to back me up. Thanks in advance.

Sorry I can’t help, but try going to the NC Dept of Labor website www.nclabor.com and see if you can contact someone through there.

That’s definitely a new one, I never would have thought to find that out…

You could have her cite some bogus penal code or something along those lines and hope they don’t call her bluff. You know, have her say something like “Well, I need to get paid and according to NC Penal Code 9.07 you are required to pay me at the end of the first pay period in which I have worked.”

Obviously this is not the best way to go, but if she’s desperate she might think about giving it a try. I think even if she’s on a monthly salary she would be entitled to a check for a pro-rated amount at the end of the month, even if she’s only worked part of the month. Wish I could cite something specific.

It can take a few weeks no more that 4 weeks depending on how they pay and if you have upfront costs for insurance and such.

Sorry, I don’t know the legalities on this, but I would think it should be no more than 4 weeks. Sounds like she should move on though if she can, this is likely only the beginning of them screwing with her.