T Nation

Natural Teen Training Split

Im an ectomorph weighing 188lbs with about 15% bodyfat and 6’1 tall and I have been using a once a week spit for a couple of years but I feel progress has been quite minimal. My upper body is lacking quite a bit and I am wondering if training each muscle group twice a week would be more beneficial for me as a natural, tall ectomorph? I am eating enough but muscle gains are very minimal, last bulk I gained mostly fat. I am thinking of a slight calorie surplus with training each muscle twice a week for the next year. I tried this with arms and it seemed to be working. Im am wondering what’s the best approach for me to use and I appreciate all help I can get.

How to Tailor Training Toward my Goals?

It’s a try-it-and-see situation. I would personally feel a bit beat up in the ole joints, but lots of people do it and like it.

Sadly there’s never an easy answer for questions like this. The answer will always be that you just need to try it.

Ectomorph? I think Chris C just poured himself a strong one…

Being 6’3" and 50, I can only recommend full body. But at the end of the day, do what works for you.

I am very similar. Try a full body program 3x a week, focusing on heavy compound movements, squats, press, rows, and dreads. Then 2x per week do an10-15 high intensity cardio session, to help burn fat.

Just do one of these:

The workouts rampant badger tagged look very close to my workouts my soph junior year of high school ,i made great gains.
6ft 1 188 isnt bad many guys you’re height only weigh 150 ish, your probably get more meso than you think. Just do me a favor and pick one of the programs mentioned and stick to it , dont buy muscle mag see a professional bodybuilders routine and try it
And diet ,eat when you are hungry and have food available, im not saying walk around with 3 pounds of chicken breast , but a sandwich, and or a meal replacement shake is handy.