Natural GHR

so i decide to pick up this exercise again…im so frustrated because i consider my self fairly strong for my weight…im not saying im anywhere near elite but a 410lb deadlift for a 165lb guy is ok i guess…so why the hell cant i perform a single full ROM Natural GHR without using hands at the bottom?? i started training the top part and gradually increasing the rom until i can hit at least 5 reps to the bottom…I see guys repping out with added weight on the GHR bench, is this variation much easier than its natural counterpart??
any tips regarding the topic would be welcomed.

Yes, a GHR bench is a million time easier. Very few people on the planet can do unassisted natural GHRs.

I dont have access to a GHR bench. What I do is to put one of those “half-bosu-balls” things under my knees, that seems to help a little bit. I still assist with my hands on the bottom of the movement, but I can feel myself getting stronger on this movement pretty fast.

I do band assisted NGHRs.

[quote]DoubleDuce wrote:
I do band assisted NGHRs. [/quote]

when honest acronyms meet racism hahaha

Much better than a natural ghr, IMO

[quote]Ty Carlson wrote:
Much better than a natural ghr, IMO

I’ve tried that, but with a bosu ball to assist on the bottom. Much lower and much harder I think… really make the hams cry and after that I was walking like I shitted myself.

I’ll have a go at those in the videos. See how it feels.

I could never bring myself to try the assisted version on a lat pulldown machine. But I’ve done Natty GHRs with the help of a band. Choke band on smith machine bar, adjust to proper height, duck into band and you’re good to go. I much prefer a proper GHR bench, but the assisted way works ok. Its definitely harder.

do you guys think that these diy GHR benches are remotly as good as the commercial ones? because 1-i cant find where i am from and 2-there hella expensive