Narrow Grip Replacement

I tore my AC joint a while back and so doing narrow bench puts my shoulder in a more vulnerable position than my usual grip would. Is there any effective replacement for this? I’m on week 5 of Cube and have just replaced it with Floor Press and dumbbell tricep ext. Should this suffice or is there another kind of pressing that will build the triceps for becnhing? Dips are out of the equation too.

Give narrow grip spoto presses for higher reps and building into lower reps a try.

It should reduce the risk on your shoulder because you are stopping shy of your chest, you are using less weight since you are doing higher reps, and you are keeping all your pressing muscles flexed throughout the entire ROM which was makes you use even less weight but still get a very good training effect from them.

Just adjust the ROM to stopping an inch above where you feel any kind of discomfort.

I am not a doctor or a physical therapist so take this advice with a grain of salt.

I would disagree with spoto presses, the joint is going to remain under tension still. If you actually tore your AC, like had an MRI and a doctor said that. That should be your main focus of fixing, talk to people who have had that injury before and see what helped them

[quote]kjmont wrote:
Give narrow grip spoto presses for higher reps and building into lower reps a try.

It should reduce the risk on your shoulder because you are stopping shy of your chest, you are using less weight since you are doing higher reps, and you are keeping all your pressing muscles flexed throughout the entire ROM which was makes you use even less weight but still get a very good training effect from them.

Just adjust the ROM to stopping an inch above where you feel any kind of discomfort.

I am not a doctor or a physical therapist so take this advice with a grain of salt.[/quote]

Excuse me, I don’t mean to hijack thread, what happened to your log? Long time since I’ve seen you post here