Myself's Comeback

I had a crappy 2014 in regards to training. After deciding to start crossfit in mid-2014 I got a string of injuries (mostly from running/soccer, not crossfit) that didn’t really let me train properly. After straining my right hamstring for the fourth time in mid-late November I decided I just had to take some time off.

I started training again a week ago today, can still feel my right hamstring a bit tight and both my lats (which I strained at the same time) a little tender. I feel like I’ll need at least a week for my hamstring to heal and at least a couple for my lats to heal.

As for my training, I’m simply doing a push/pull/legs split focused on performance. I don’t have any set schedule throughout the week nor do I have a set routine for each bodypart. I just train them in the way that I feel would be most effective that day with my goal being both aesthetic and performance driven. If you would like to see an example of what I’m doing just ask.

As for my diet, it’s also very flexible. I’m trying to get to 6-8% bodyfat. Mon-Fri I just focus on staying under maintenance and having carbs mostly around my workouts, as well as taking 2 HOT-ROX twice a day.

I feel like I may have discovered a little “trick”. Every time you eat make sure you have enough protein AND 5 grams of leucine. Leucine starts the muscle building process through the mTor pathway, meaning that every time you have 5 gr of leucine your body will start synthesizing protein. This is extremely effective because it also keeps protein breakdown low (it’s also thought to be insulinogenic). I have both l-leucine by itself and an EAA blend that contains 10 gr of EAAs and 5 gr of Leucine. I think this is extremely powerful and if I were to recommend just one supplement to someone it would be an EAA blend like the one above. Just think about it, you can start protein synthesis and stop protein breakdown while having ZERO calories.