T Nation

My Working Weight with Squats is Pathetic

I've been working out for around 3 months and the weight I use to squat for 5x5 reps is ~130. My form is usually decent as I have somebody who really understands squatting watching it for me whenever I workout. I weigh around 165 pounds, 5'11", and I'm a skinny-fat ectomorph.

Is there anything I can do to get my squat up? My deadlift is always way ahead of it (220 for 5 reps with decent form).

What was it when you started? Are you adding weight to the bar each workout? Also, eat more. Nothing will at weight to your squat like gaining 20 lbs.

When I first started, it was 115.

How much should I be aiming to increase it by each week? I can probably do around 140 for 2-3 reps with good form, but after that, my form craps out.

What other work are you doing for your legs?

I ask because you should try some different exercises for a while and then come back to the squat. I am willing to bet that your squat will improve.

Try doing hack squats, single leg bulgarian split squats, split squats, single leg romanian deadlift, sumo deadlift etc.....

Pick 2 or three and do it for 3-4 weeks then you can go back and try regular back squats again. Most likely your Back squat will be improved.

I had the same problem until i decided to back off and do some other leg exercises. when I came back to the squat I had improved by about 15 lbs on my 10 rep max.

Squats, SLDLs, and calf-raises are the only leg work I do.

Work hard at squat, but as already mentioned work your legs on other exercises to make them stronger. Heavy Leg Press, heavy romanian deadlift,etc etc will all improve your leg muscles.

As assistance exercises,,you should focus on 1) split squats,,2) stiff legged deadlifts,,3) Good mornings,,4) any weighted ab move...and do walkouts with 50 lbs over your working weight