My Road to Elite, Part 2

Former log: http://tnation.tmuscle.com/free_online_forum/blog_sports_body_training_performance_bodybuilding_log/my_road_to_elite

When I first started my log I had been training for just under 7 months (I’m now 2 months shy of 2 years training). I was 172 pounds and had a best squat of 375, bench 225, and deadlift 455. I felt as though I was having difficulty progressing at the rate I felt I should, and was having difficulty finding a program that suited me.

A couple of months later I found Sheiko and started making some good progress. A shoulder injury on 9/9/09 slowed things down a bit, but overall I was pleased with my 1436 pound total at the USAPL Wisconsin State Open in the 198’s on 1/30/10 in single ply.

Currently I am working with Mike Tuchscherer on an 18 week prep for the USAPL Badger Open where I hope to hit 1575+ to quality for Men’s Open Nationals.

While I definitely have a goal of hitting an elite total, more than anything I wish to exploit whatever ability I may have and become the best lifter I can be while not compromising my life outside of the gym. In short, I plan to work extremely hard, and achieve some sporting dreams.

I put in a lot of hours for 17 years trying to become a nationally competitive golfer, now all of that energy is going into lifting where I think I have a better chance.

This log is not only to help me hold myself accountable for the drudgery that is recovery work/GPP, but also to enter my workouts so that I might continue to get some extraordinary advice from people that know better. I will not name people for fear of missing someone, but I can think of quite a few people off the top of my head that have made a huge difference in my lifting.