T Nation

My Program!

Hey guys,

I am new to weightlifting and it has been around a week. I have looked around everywhere but I cannot seem to get a clear answer, thus I am starting this thread. My friends do not do weights and if they do they are to selfish to tell me because I might get better than them. I play basketball and I want to stop being pushed around on the court as if I wasn't even there. I am trying to get stronger, bigger, faster, and jump higher. I have a few questions and hopefully you guys can help me:

1. I drink around 3.57 liters of milk(2%) everyday. Is this bad?, should I drink more?

2. When I do weights, I feel like it is very short, around 35 mins. Is this normal?, maybe it is because I do basketball programs which last much longer.

3. For my post workout blend, should I get blend or isolate? Why? Also which blend do I buy, from this place(money is not a problem)?

4. I am new to weights, should I edit my workout? What would u recommend me to change/fix?
    (Alternate between workouts)
    Workout A:
    3x5 Squats
    3x5 Bench Press
    1x5 Dead lift (Should I increase?)
    2x Dips till failure
    3x Chin Up till failure

Workout B:
3x5 Squat
3x5 Standing military press
3x5 Power cleans
2x Dips
3x Pull Up till failure
Info about me:
- 5"11
- 125lb
- 16 years old
*If you want numbers for how much I lift, I will post.

Thanks guys.

1. Way too much milk. That much protein can cause kidney failure.

2. Working out way too long. Shorten it by about 30 minutes.

3. Definitely a blend. Coke/Pepsi stacks are probably the most anabolic.

4. Workouts suck. Try something more like this.

Sit up 30X3
Concentration DB Curl in the squat rack 50 x 1.

Ok really, joking aside. Look up Westside for Skinny Bastards. It's an old program, but should get you on the right track. Haven't really been on the site for a while so there may be some newer articles/programs that may be better suited for you. Good Luck man.