My Main Goal is Weight Gain

Alright, so I’m not really a beginner (been lifting for about two years). I’ve gone from 150 to 165 at 6’1". But I’m still short of my goal of 180. I want to go beyond that but if I can reach 180 I will be verrrrrry happy and anything after is icing on the cake. I think that is a realistic goal. Yes?

Like I said, I’ve been working out for about the past 2 years(well, I’ve lifted before that but never on a strict plan with a goal). Been doing a lot of program hopping. Started out with John Berardi’s program and began with 5X5. Noticed some good gains here but plateuad very quickly. Continued to make REALLY GOOD improvements in strength but my scale weight was not going up. Eventually took a step back and re-evaluated, started doing more research into hypertrophy and periodization.

Long story short, I’ve “re-evaluated” too many times. I’ve done so much research and reading and have found A LOT of conflicting opinions about mass gain for the skinny bastard. Some stress the Low reps, high weight scheme. But again, I performed my own experiment here and found that my strenght improved but I did not gain as much as I wanted. I can’t knock it too much, I seemed to make the best gains on the 5X5 program (about 10 pounds). But strength is NOT my main goal.

I will be frank and truthful, my main goal is weight gain NOT STRENGTH GAIN. Again, yes I’ve read articles that state that the two go hand in hand. And yes, I’ve seen PROGRESSIVE OVERLOAD pop up in numerous articles as well. I’m not debating either one. All I’m saying is that I do not want strenght to be my primary focus.