My Lower Back

My Fucking Lower Back keeps blowing out! Every 4-5 months…BOOM In the middle of a squat or a deadlift I am on my way up and suddenly I feel it blow, and I rack the weight and leave the gym. Keeps totally derailing my progress. After having my Squat and Deadlift analyzed, it appears I overarch my back in both of these.

Now I have also been told I push out of my toes instead of heels on squats. I think both of these come from strength imbalances and also keeping my legs too close together. I will be widening my stance and point my toes out but I wanted to hear from other people who have this problem and am curious if I should switch to a trap bar, start using a lifting belt (I know…) or try and correct the imbalance in my lower back with rack pulls?

I have been doing a standard Squat and regular Deadlift, and I cannot get any freaking stronger because my lower back keeps fucking going out!!! I am also a 10 year veteran to the iron game.

My lower back used to do the same thing. About once a quarter it would blow up and I’d have to take 2 weeks off training. I actually had much better luck moving my feet IN on deadlifts to help with back pain. This made it so that I had far better leg drive and used less lower back on my deadlifting. I made a video that demonstrates how I pull that may help you out.

On the topic of rack pulls, I rarely pull of the floor these days, and primarily pull off of mats (in my case, rubber patio tiles) from various heights. This also helps my back.

Absolutely you should invest in a belt.

Additionally, I got a reverse hyper and my lower back feels bullet proof. I would highly suggest that.

Seconding everything pwnisher said but I think another problem you have is not correctly bracing your core. Instead of me trying to explain it at length watch this video from Chris Duffin one of the best lifters in the world:

glute activation drills

Agile 8 and couch hip flexor stretch.

tweet