T Nation

My legs are too big!

Hey all,
i am a high school student who enjoys lifting weights. Although I havent always stuck to it, I’ve recently started up again. The thing is, I have naturally huge legs - it varies where i measure my thighs but >29inches around is a measurement i’ve gotten before! I am 5’11", about 210 pounds. Anyway, its hard for me to find pants that fit my legs - I buy pants with 2-3 inches larger waist than mine (me=35-36) just to fit my legs! I can squat over 300 pounds for sure, seeing as how I do 255x3x7 squats. this is totally out of whack with the rest of me, e.g. my 160 max bench press! So, should I stop doing squats to keep my leg size down? What should my leg training be like? I am currently trying to cut body fat to trim my legs as much as possible…but I don’t think it will be enough. Thanks for advice!

What are your goals in the gym?? if it is to get huge, then no, don’t stop squatting at all. squat more, go bigger, and the rest of your body will catch up. But thats only if your goal is to become huge… but any way you look at it, I would never cut out squats.

you could always just try using a wheelchair for a while…

It sounds like you are one of those guys that just has naturally stocky legs, which means the rest of you is probably pretty solid. That’s awesome, you probably won’t have a problem bulking up.

As far as dieting, I don’t know if you’ll ever lose the bulk of your legs (that is if you have giant calves and muscular legs). Just eat right, trim off the fat, lean out and keep building. Needing a personal tailor is something to brag about.

Make them bigger

Don’t train for hypertrophy, that is all. What is so difficult about that?

Why you are worried about this is beyond me, but anyway…