My Intro Post, Unconventional Training

I dropped out of conventional weightlifting not too long ago and have taken up more unconventional weight training activities. The main reason I decided to do this was because I started working in construction and saw just how physically powerful my co-workers were in spite of never lifting a weight in a gym.

And it made me think that if I started training in a manner similar to the activities they do, but approaching it as a weightlifting system, I could really make something of myself. I want to be a well-rounded athlete. And I stress the term athlete. I want to be strong, fast, and durable.

Here is a list of implements that I have at my disposal:

Adjustable sandbag (pea gravel, actually) with weight increments of 5, 10, and 25 lbs up to 200 lbs.
Sledgehammer and tire with which to strike
Backpack with weights for traditional ‘bodyweight’ exercises.
Captains of Crush grip trainers

As for the type of work I do, it is typically full-body focusing on developing functional strength, balance, coordination, explosiveness, and speed. I incorporated the sandbag and weighted backpack to develop all of these attributes.

In addition, I have started doing a slew of gymnastic movements as I wish to develop the type of athleticism that gymnasts exhibit. As for endurance, explosiveness, and speed, I have also taken up sprinting. I run like a maniac in my back yard probably looking like an absolute freak to my neighbors, but oh well!

A problem I face is that it is difficult to find programming suitable for what I want to accomplish with the implements and exercises I utilize. I am as much of a bumbling amateur as a person can be. And I was wondering where I might find programming that would correspond to the type of training I do and the goals I have set. And if there are any other suggestions with regards to training or training tools, I would welcome them.