My Goals

My goals for next wrestling season (mid-November) include a weighted chin-up with 90 lbs attatched, a 405 sumo deadlift, and a bodyweight clean and push-press. I plan to be about 185 lbs then, wrestling at 189. My current stats from last week’s workouts (at a little over 170) include a 275 x 3 sumo deadlift, 132 x 5 push press, and a weighten chins of +40 lbs x 2. I also want to gain about 20 lbs of muscle to bring me to that weight (I’ll shed some fat in practice, and keep in mind I’m still growing). Do those goals seem realistic (I am using a Westisde template)?

You’re not a complete newb, so I don’t see 20lbs being all that realistic, especially in less than 9 months… especially with losing fat as well…especially with trying to keep in fairly good condition.

Not realistic…but not impossible.
You can do it but it will take a lot of work…mainly at the Table… and not with dumbbells but with a fork & knife.

For now just prioritize your goals, this is probably a clearer view of what we talked about prior. I know you have a lot of wrestling camps coming up and you want to be in condition for those but it’s going to be hard to maintain an elite level of conditioning as well unless you just aren’t doing shit else-

April-May:
higher rep lifting (10-12)
–build more of a base and get your movement efficiency down perfect. First 2-3 weeks don’t even ME or DE lift. Add those in the weeks hereafter.

Example:

Weeks 1-3:
Bench Press (5-10x10)
Chest Supported Row(5x10)
Seated dumbbell clean/Facepull (5x10)(superset)
–>insert an exercise for your weak area (5x10-15)

Week 4-9(?):

Bench Press (ME)
Strip weight…Bench Press (5x10)
Chest supported row or Bent Row (5x5-8)
–>Weak point/ build the lift
–>Weak point/ build the lift