My Goals....Any Comments?

I’m a newbie to these forums, I have been viewing the site for months and soaking up as much as I can. I’m 21 and this will be my first serious step into bodybuilding. I have done weight training in the past, but never with a committed goal to get big, and certainly with many flaws. This will be my first ‘serious’ bulking phase and I intend to use it as a learning experience, learning about my body and my training needs.

I do not believe in any of that hard-gainer crap, and I know that the responsibility is on me to follow-thru with my plans. Barring an accident, I’ll have no one but myself to blame if I fail.

I’m a skinny dude(surprise :-/) Weighing it at just under 180(fluctuates) on a 6’4 skeleton. My frame is actually fairly big all around and I believe it is well suited for putting on a lot of extra muscle, I simply have never pursued this with intent before.

My Primary goal is to put on somewhere between 15-30 pounds of lean muscle mass by next year. I am uncertain just how long it will take me to do, but I know there are no shortcuts and I’m not looking to explode in size overnight.

About 5 months ago I began weight training with bodybuilding in mind. I completely reorganized my diet and I started doing all the exercises I could manage with my free weights. My goal then was not to become fucking enormous, but to teach myself discipline and the general mechanics of what I am intent on following through with today.

I did put on a couple of pounds in that time, but mostly I just became a lot stronger, matching up with many of my friends who are more ‘built’ than I am.

Strength is not my primary concern with this planned bulking phase, I think I can adequately address that after I’ve put some beef on, and trying to get the best of both worlds might be a little too ambitious for me. I know I will get stronger in this time, but I also know that strength is not all about raw muscle size.