T Nation

My Full Body Routine - Opinions

I’m posting this to get some feedback on a routine I’ve been doing for almost 3 years now. I started lifting (doing a slight variation of this routine) at 5’7" 135lbs ~10% body fat, and am currently 200lbs at about 14% BF.

Session #1 (Tuesday, Thursday, & Saturday 6:00-6:45)

Lat Pulldowns (Behind head) 8 reps x 2 sets
Lat Pulldowns (Normal) 8 reps x 2 sets
Seated Chin-ups 8 reps x 2 sets
Tricep Press Down 6 reps x 2 sets
Leg Curls 6 reps x 2 sets
Reverse Leg Curls 4 reps x 2 sets
Seated Row 8 reps x 2 sets
Shoulder Shrugs 8 reps x 2 sets
Standing Row 8 reps x 2 sets
Calf Raises 8 reps x 2 sets
Squats 15 reps x 2 sets

Session #2 (Tuesday, Thursday, & Saturday 10:00-10:50

Barbell Curls 6 reps x 2 sets
Preacher Curls 8 reps x 2 sets
Front Barbell Raises 6 reps x 2 sets
Side Dumbell Raises 6 reps x 2 sets
Military Press 8 reps x 2 sets
Forearm Curls 8 reps x 2 sets
Alternating Dumbell Curls 6 reps x 2 sets
Hammer Curls 6 reps x 2 sets
Bench Press 6 reps x 2 sets

In general I rest about 20-40 seconds between workouts and about 3-4 minutes between sets. I usually add 5-10lbs to each workout every 2-3 months.

I’ve heard mixed things from people when I tell them what I do, but the majority is that I shouldn’t do that much in one night. The truth is I’ve had so much success with it in the past 3 years I’ve been doing it that I’ve really found no need to change what I’m doing. My injuries have been limited to mainly my left shoulder (which I’ve had trouble with prior to starting my lifting routine), though they have become almost non-existent in the past 2 years or so due to finally putting focus in proper form. I’ve done lots of research on my diet and follow it religiously.