T Nation

My Friend Won't Grow

Hey guys,

Need advise. I have been helping a friend for about 2 years now trying to get the fucker to grow. But to no avail. He just keeps getting stronger!

Just to give you an idea these are some of the lifts he can do:-

Flat BB Bench Press - 4sets/5reps - 125Kg
Bentover BB Row - " " - 100Kg
Military Press - " " - 65Kg
Deadlift - 1RM - 195Kg
Pullddowns - 4sets/5reps - 115Kg
Leg Press - 3sets/10reps- 200Kg

I know that he’s not the strongest in the grand scale of things but his aim is HYPERTROPHY. his form is good too. (Re: the leg press’: he can’t squat for shit. I wouldn’t want to be near him when he does try!)

Here are some measurements:-

Height - 6’3"
Weight - 215lbs
Body Fat - At a Guess 12-15%
Neck - 16"
Chest (relaxed) - 43 1/2"
(expanded)- 46"
Waist - 41"
Arms (right) - 15 1/2"
(Left) - 16 1/2"
Shoulders - 22" across
Quads - 25"

So not really big. (I’m bigger and I haven’t trained for a year!!!)

Will try and get a photo to attach but he is really funny about having photo’s taken. It was hard enough to get him to agree to have his measurements taken!

He eats about 3000 calories taking in 225g of protein a day. carbs come in the form of wholemeal pasta and rice and fats through olive oil. It’s all pretty damn clean!

According to him he is a Former Fat Boy and been training from about 17 so approx 7-8 years. he was doing mostly strength training when we meet so I changed that and so far we have tried everything:

Bodypart split
fullbody training
3-4 sets of 8-12 reps
3x5
5x5
push/pull split

He seems to adapt to the training stimulus VERY quickly and says he “feels fat” if he slows down on the training front.
Nothing is working and he has followed all of the advise I have given him from these hallowed pages!

I can’t get him to grow. What the hell does he do next?

AS is out so don’t even suggest it!

Please help before one of us commits harri karri!

Dave