My First Training Log: Smolov Jr for Bench

I started lifting seriously in January. For about 7 months straight I have been doing the 5/3/1. I have my records from something like months back, so I will post those with my latest

Im 5’11", 170, 27yrs.

PR:
Bench: 165x4—>180x4
Dead : 260x8—>330x3
Press: 105x6—>120x4
Squat: ??? —>215x5
Chin : ??? —>50 x5

I don’t have much squat info cause I did squats for a few months, but was not happy with my form and stopped for a while… and when I started again I dropped the weight drastically, and now focus on form… I could probably squat more weight for more reps, but I frankly hate squats and so I am happy taking it really easy with squating. I also started doing weighted chins… to me the chin is probably the most important lift… I could give a damn about the big 3 if chins aint on that list. For me the big 3 are bench, deads, and chins/pullups!

So anyway, after stalling out on bench last week I got pissed off and decided to change my training up a bit. After doing a lot of looking around at programs, I realized that almost all strength programs involve LOADS of squatting and this doesn’t jive with me. I would much rather bench, chin, and row 3 days a week than SQUAT 3 days. YEAH YEAH. I know, king of exercises … bla bla bla… aint my thing.

So I wrote up a mad cow for myself, but I left squats only on wednesday, and replaces the mon/fri squats with chins… because thats whats important to me… and then I was complaining to my co-worker about how SQUATING 3 DAYS A WEEK is acceptable… but NO OTHER LIFT IS DONE THAT FREQUENTLY in most strength programs. And he tells me about SMOLOV JR and i was like… well damn. I am gonna run that! I consider my bench to be among my weakest lifts, so hopefully smolov helps.

So I started this training log, wanna pitch in my smolov experience to expand the information base.