T Nation

My First Real Bulk

What is the absolute fastest you have ever seen a human being complete a successful 20 lb bulk starting from total newb country?

I am asking so I set realistic expectations for myself. I feel like I may be getting a bit ahead of myself or expecting too much.

-Zep

Based on your question, I suggest you forget the terms bulk and cut completely.

Eat above maintenance, say 300-500 cals or so, and ramp up the intensity in the weight room. Smash the fuck out of the weights until you feel un-recovered. Then add 300-500 more cals...

Rinse repeat until you are the size you want to be 6 years from now.

(Those cals numbers are wild guesses, you have to play around and figure out how your body responds. My point is don't eat 10x more than you have to.)

Agreed. I have trained people who have gained what looked to be 20lbs of muscle with no visible increase in body fat in a month. I have experienced the same myself. This is about your EFFORT, your GENETICS, your TRAINING, and your FOOD INTAKE.

There are too many variables for someone to predict how much muscle someone else can gain.

Most of the people here don't train very hard....so obviously they won't be growing very much no matter what supplements they take or what they eat.

Took me about 14 weeks once I got my Diet and exercize right where it needed to be. Went from 183 to 203. 3500 to 4000 cals a day and at least 200 grams of protein a day. a 4 day split. Lots of rest.

Thanks for taking time to respond guys. I really appreciate it.

Ill give a little bit of info.

I have been running a modified version of starting strength to include isolation work for arms, mid delt, and post delt. (My goal is to run out my newbie gains and transition off to a more BB style program with my new found size/strength. I will then correct form again, imbalances, or whatever from there.)