My First Meet in December. Total Noob, Advice?

Lemme know if you need more info.
stats
30yrs old @79kgs (I’ll be competing in the 82.5)
I haven’t tested my squat or DL in a while.
Bench: 150KG (not paused, never trained paused before. That will be the most obvious change to make)
DL: I just finished up a cycle that had me finishing with 8x3@160KG. All but the last 2 sets were smooth sailing. I think I could pull 190 if I tried.
Squat: 165 as of 4 weeks ago. My shittiest lift (I skipped leg day for too many years haha)

I have 6 weeks left on my current cut and routine.

What should I do after that? What sort of training protocols have you used leading up to your peaking cycle? Also, is there a good peaking cycle you recommend?

Thanks guys for any quality feedback!

I did my first meet yesterday. Can’t comment on peaking, because I didn’t, but the only advice I’d give is to properly stagger your jumps.

I hit all my openers but then failed my second attempts because I jumped up too much. I only managed to salvage my squat on my third so ended up pretty down on what I expected heading in. It really is different on the day, although I can’t quite put my finger on why. In hindsight, I think I’d have preferred to go 9 for 9 and moved up in 2.5s than bomb out on everything but my openers.

Still, it was an absolute blast of a day, and I’m just gutted I didn’t start sooner. Already eyeing up another meet in 9 months. Good luck!

1 Like

Thanks man! Sorry to hear about your disappointment. Thanks for sharing, I appreciate it.

Is there a particular reason you’re cutting at the moment? It looks like you have a little room to fill out the weight class.

That’s a solid bench. I would definitely start training pauses. Different count pauses, have someone calling out commands if you can, etc. I trained some paused bench but I was doing it on perfect counts in my head. You never know how the judge is going to call it out on game day, so practice a wide range of pauses.