T Nation

My First Comp At 52

I competed in the Lightweight Category of the BNBF Southern Qualifiers on Sunday at the age of 52!
I started training on 4 January when i also started removing crap food from my diet. I then started my strict diet 18 weeks out when I was 83kg (183 pounds)with bodyfat of 20.9%.
I dieted down to 70kg (154 pounds)with bodyfat of 6% although I weighed in at 72kg (158 pounds) after carbing up.

It takes some balls to walk out on stage for the first time! I had realised how small my chest, lats, and quads were but I gave the comp my all. My 90 secs routine to music was perfect & I had a great day. I finished fourth & am now inspired to eat cleanly & add size to my body whilst keeping the fat as low as possible. I don’t have the genetics of a big bodybuilder but living the lifestyle of one for 6 months has motivated me and added new impetus to my life. I herniated my bellybutton 16 weeks ago doing weighted inclined crunches but decided to leave the operation until after the competition. I’m really proud of my achievement :slight_smile:

This just shows it’s never to late to try competing, and good luck with the renewed motivation!

Here’s a photo from the comp :slight_smile:

Congratulations, but your photo didn?t come through

It has taken me while to work out how to reduce the size of photos in order to get them on here. Here’s the first taken 10 days ago after 18 weeks of dieting. This was 2 days before the comp.

From the main show. The next two, in orange trunks, are from the evening routines

From my 90 secs routine to music. The only time in my life that I’ve been in time!

Last one! Resizing them is worse than competing :wink:

That’s me in the middle :slight_smile: And I’m not bald! The bright lights make my number one haircut look like Yul Bryner!
I have decided to add at least 10 pounds of muscle over the next 12 months & have another go at it.

This post was flagged by the community and is temporarily hidden.