My fat vs muscles gains

I started lifting weights in August 2014. This was my original post back then: http://tnation.T-Nation.com/free_online_forum/sports_body_training_performance_bodybuilding_beginner/start_bulk_at_19_bodyfat

I was 140 lbs and now I’m up to 155 lbs. My lifts are as follows:
Overhead press: 115lbs x 5
Bench: 135lbs x 5
Deadlift: 265lbs x 5

Unfortunately, I resorted to hack squat machine and leg presses for leg work. I still need to develop hip flexibility to do proper squats. I do other lifts like pullups, curls, skulls, etc. but I won’t bother listing those. I also do rows on the machine, but recently started doing barbell rows.

Some of my issues are that my bench isn’t that great. My 1 rep max on the bench is just my body weight. I seem to struggle most with my bench. Also, I’m concerned that I’ve put on a bit more fat than I’d like. It’s nothing insane, but I have more stomach fat now. The dilemma is whether I should ease off on the eating a bit, but I’m afraid my lifts will suffer. At the same time, I don’t want to gain more fat than I already have.

Is it wise to do a mini-cut for maybe 5 lbs and then get back to a surplus and adding weight?

Photo of me back in August 2014:

Photo of me now:

You really need to not BS around and squat. I think that will help you most. You gained a little weight but I think you look fine honestly. I cant say what your specific numbers should be, but I think your deadlift and bench press are low for having almost trained 1 year. You aren’t strong enough for 5/3/1 so you could probably still do a 5x5 routine. In my personal experience 5x5 did not work for improving my bench press and overhead press. I had to do more volume to get them up, but once I did holy shit my numbers climbed. It took me some time to figure out what was working and what wasn’t.