My Experience Training So Far

I’ve been considering my 5-year training history, and while that (granted) isn’t long at all compared to some guys, I’ve had 4 years worth of plateaus, bumps and bruises, stupid training, and finally, some intelligent training and realizations. I thought that maybe through cataloging some of these experiences, I might help other (beginning) lifters. Most/all of this has been said before in different places and different ways, but if I even provide one useful piece of information to one or two people, then this was worth it.

I started lifting out of necessity rather than desire, as I was playing football as a sophomore in high school. My coaches didn’t know s**t about training, never instructing about proper form on the lifts and never even mentioning nutrition. This led to injuries and a lot of wasted time in the gym. This leads me to

Tip #1: get coaching, if you can’t, then watch videos, talk to other people, read forums, do WHATEVER it takes to learn proper form. If you haven’t received some form of instruction on an exercise, don’t do it. After some instruction, seek more, from more experienced people. You can ALWAYS improve your technique, it takes years to perfect it, especially on the big lifts (Deadlifts, cleans, squats, bench etc…). Get someone with expertise (not your buddy who’s watched a Dr. Squat video and thinks he knows his stuff) to watch your form, and correct it. Also, keep your back straight, regardless of what exercise it is. If you can’t, then lower the weight.

I played football for three years, over that time I probably gained 25 pounds. 15 of this was just naturally growing up, and 10 was from going from no training to some training. With proper nutrition this could have easily been 45 pounds (30 of muscle), a quicker 40, higher jump, and harder hit.