My Deadlift Needs Analysis!

I am currently doing the first part of ABBH. I have been using 240 as my 80% of 1RM. The problem is that I do not feel the lift in my prosterior chain. I only feel it in my lower back. Please take a look at the videos and let me know if you can help. Thanks!

-Machine

http://www.zippyvideos.com/145242137150155.html

http://www.zippyvideos.com/83062301150195.html

http://www.zippyvideos.com/180322802150205.html

Get your butt lower. Your beginning stance should be like you’re at the bottom of a deep, narrow Olympic squat. Push with your heels and try to pull the bar back. Keep your back out of the majority of the movement. And make sure you’re feeling that glute squeeze when you’re done!

I can’t say that I am an expert at deads, but from the first video it looks like you are rounding your back at the start of the lift. You should concentrate on maintaining the correct arch in the lower back. I would also treat each rep as a single and focus on getting set each rep. It just looked a little “sloppy” technique-wise. Take an extra second to make sure your back is arched correctly, head is in correct position and that you have the correct amount of knee and hip flexion.

I’m not sure if the weight you were using was close to your max, but it looked lighter than the 240 you mentioned, therefore you should have perfect form, otherwise your technique will get worse as you approach your max.

Hope this helps.

Ben

Kuckles nail it - your butt needs to be way lower. In doing so, your upper torso will be more vertical at the start of the lift. Looking at the vidoes it is no wonder that you are feeling the lift in your back.

Checkout Eric’s Deadlift Diagnosis article:
http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do;jsessionid=38A2C7E975B446BC40B71778F376E9E5.titan?id=586815