T Nation

My Current Routine

I’m still a beginner really as I’ve been training properly for about a year. Prior to that I was really misguided, had results but they were definitely ‘beginner results’.

I’ve tried ABBH by CW properly and half heartedly tried some other programs from authors here and they weren’t bad but I’ve had the best results on my current program it’s a little unconventional compared to what the majority of articles on this website recommend but here it goes.

I do one body part a week and I have a legs/shoulders/back/chest/arms day I don’t always do the arms day as sometimes they get killed on the back day.

During each session I incorporate a sort of CW ‘25 method’ to start with where I do a little less about 20 reps of a weight in my 4-6RM no sets just keep doing it until the target reps are reached. For one or two exercises.

Next I do one or two exercises in the 8-12 rep range moving the barbell/dumbbell etc as fast as possible for about 3-6 sets.

Finally I do one or two exercises that are usually machines in the light rep area. So say on chest day I’ll do:

Barbell Bench Press - Heavy 4-6RM - 20-25 reps
Standing Cable Press - Heavy 4-6RM - 15-25 reps (depending how I’m feeling)
Incline Dumbbell - Medium about 15RM - 8-12 reps about 3-6 sets
Decline Barbell - Same as above

Finally the Pec Deck. I start with a couple of reps of heavy again then just do one to three sets of lighter weights to really sort of kill myself.

If I happen to go to failure I will stop lifting the weight straight away so I never really actually properly go to failure on any of these. Although sometimes if I feel like it I will really try to beast out a rep even if it’s one that will likely end in failure.

EXTRA info for anyone who can be arsed to read.