My Comeback

Hi everyone, hoping to get some advice. I was a very dedicated lifter for about 15 years, about 18 months ago I had to get spinal fusion surgery. I’ve recovered well however I desperately want to get as close as to where I once was in terms of power & size.

I’m a former personal trainer so I know diet & routines pretty well. I’m 5’9 & used to weigh 185ish, due to the HELL/medication i’ve endured over the last year I now weigh around 160.I used to bench around 290 & could squat & dead over 400. I realize my heavy leg/back days are done, has anybody out there ever trained legs successfully after back surgery?

To me squats were the ONLY leg exercise however I’m open to any suggestions. I used creatine in the past with good results, would it be a good idea to start a cycle to kind of “jumpstart” my comeback? I’m 40 years old & really want my size/power back-any thoughts would be vastly appreciated.

My first few workouts back have been VERY depressing as I can barely bench 185 for a few reps. I’m hoping muscle memory will still work at my age! Thanks in advance for any advice anyone might have!

Hi

No advice from me just to say good luck.

I’m in a similar boat, I hurt my back 2 years ago and am coming back slowly but surely. Have you tried front squats?

I’m just doing a 1 lift a day thing at the moment (Squat, Chins, Push-press, Deadlift, Dips) and everything’s going well allbeit with very low weights.

What exercises can you do without pain?

I too am in the process of making a comeback at 35. I started back seriously back in February of this year after laying out several years due to shoulder surgeries and then just got lazy.