T Nation

My Cardio Has to Get Better. Advice?

If anyone could help I would like some advice or help on scheduling my new workout plan because of work. I’m a correctional officer and each week for us is different I have a long week which is Monday, Tuesday work 12 HR shift. Wednesday and Thursday off and Friday, Saturday and Sunday 12 hr shifts. So basically my long week suck and only have two days off to workout. My short week is Monday and Tuesday off Wednesday and Thursday work 12 HR shifts and Friday, Saturday and Sunday off. My short week are amazing. Anyways I’m planning on applying to become a police officer in about 6 months or and my cardio is so awful!! I love lifting but honestly I need to be realistic and tell myself that I need to relax on lifting and focus on cardio because my 1.5 mile is awful I finish in about 17:30-18:16. I always just focused on strength because that’s what I was good at but what’s the point in lifting heavy when I can’t run for crap! Anyways would like some input on my schedule and what you guys think. I still want to lift weights but I would want to be focused on getting my time better.

Long week
Monday- work , Tuesday-work

Wednesday-chest/shoulder
Bench 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Incline dumbbell bench 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Incline bench 4 sets of 6-8 reps
OHP 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Dumbbell seated press 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Standing behind the neck 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Cardio 1.5 miles as fast as I can

Thursday - back/legs
Deadlift 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Barbell bent over rows 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Dumbbell rows 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Squat 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Front squats 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Hack squats 4 sets of 6-8 reps

Friday-work, Saturday-work, Sunday-work

Short week
Monday-legs
Squat 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Front squats 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Hack squats 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Leg press 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Cardio 2-3 miles incline at 6-9 at a slow speed of 3-4

Tuesday-Chest
Bench press 4 sets of 6-8 reps
Dumbbell incline 4 sets of 6-8 reps