T Nation

My Body is a Wreck. And I Need to Change.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/535/unledah.jpg/
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/863/unled2fv.jpg/

stats: 5ft9
175 pounds
bf: don't know, but too high.

Lifts: Bench = 60kg 3x5 , Deadlift 90kg 1x5.

I honestly think that looks around 30% bodyfat, i've tried bulking but i have got so much fat that its making it hard for my body to gain muscle i think. Bull****, i really regret the time i went on a dreamer bulk and got fat that i now find really hard to get rid of.

I'm a newb and i don't really know what i'm doing with this process, i've been a casual gym goer but its not good enough for me anymore when i want to improve.

"tired bulking?"

Get on a real split, a 5x5, or something comparable, eat good food, and train your ass off.

For a beginner, this is pretty simple. It is mostly about intensity in the gym and you being willing to put in the work it takes to get your body to the next level.

You should focus right now in improving your lifts and not worry about your body composition IMO. Eat a ton of dense food and add weight to the bar....I feel like I just said this somewhere else...

He definitely needs to be aware of his body comp, but not worry. So I agree.

OP

Eat at maintenance level. High protein 1.5g/lb. Moderate carbs; somewhere in the 150-250g range, its hard to say what'll work purely by guessing. 25% fat.

You should not be eating a big surplus as your insulin sensitivity is likely horrible at this point.

Cut out ALL alcohol. Eat plenty of vegetables. And most importantly, force yourself to get much stronger. Do cardio.

What these guys said^^^