T Nation

My 531 Program (and Some Questions)

Hi everyone,
without any BS, I’m returning to lifting. Read 531 and Beyond 531 for a couple of weeks, (also pre-ordered 531 forever) and read every relevant t nation article I could find.

Right now Im experimenting with the bellow program, to see how my body reacts and if I manage to pull everything off in under 1 hour (I go early in the morning, and with all the communicating i gotta do, Im time pressed. Yes, I hate it too.)

As I’m a returning beginner with beginner weights, would just like to confirm I got the program and the principles right, as with so many options/templates, I think I got a bit overwhelmed.

I try to stick to the basic principles, which are:

• heavy multi-joint lifts;
  • utilize TM;
  • start with low weights, progress slowly;
  • assistance exercises are secondary and complementary to the main lifts ;
  • conditioning with a goal - lose 6 kgs of fatty bombastic;
  • eat shit ton of protein,
  • whatever you need to do to be fit (physically and mentalle) WRITE IT DOWN - and stick with it;
  • kick ass, take some names along the way.

Day 1.)
Agile 8, Box Jumps
Squat 531, Joker sets(if possible), 5x5 FSL
Benchpress 531, Joker sets, 5x5 FSL - Superset with BB row, 5x10
Incline press assistance
Jump rope
(note: soetimes I split this day into 2: bench on one day, squat on another day)

Day 2.)
Agile 8, Box Jumps
Overhead press 531, Joker, 5x5 FSL, superset with CURL
BW dips
Pushups
Jump rope

Day 3.)
Agile 8, Box Jumps
Deadlift 531, Joker, 5x5 FSL, superset with Pull-Ups
Assistance
Tabata conditioning

Also, I have questions I couldn’t find an answer to:

1.) Is it possible to combine 2 main lifts in a day ? (for example if by circumstances I have to skip a day)

2.) I will see some programs (and also Jim’s articles) combine 2 main lifts a day: one 531, another 5x5. What is this template (didnt find it in beyond 531)