T Nation

Muscle Spasm While Pinning?

So I was hitting my right delt with a 23g 1" needle and as soon as it penatrated the skin the muscle spazed out and was twitching; hurt like a bitch and pulled it out right when it happened. I hav'nt hit delts since. I just started using delts in addition to my regualr quad/glute rotation. Is this normal? Should I have been using a smaller needle? Or was this just a one time freak thing?

It has happened to me plenty of times, I usually don't pull the needle out though, I just wait till it calms down.

If you want to pick a new spot, just pull it out and stick it in somewhere else.

Alright thanks for the advice - I guess I'll just sack up!

How are you injecting your delt?

With your arm hanging normally?

I've heard resting your arm on something so it is parallel to the ground makes it a bit easier to inject.

I give immunizations for a living. I see this very often when the person is not relaxed, or has their arm in a semi lifted position. Next time make sure to keep your arm hanging down and completely relaxed. I hope this helps, and keep trying your technique can only get better.

It was just hanging by my side. I'll try resting it on my desk next time; I guess it will take some tension off the muscle?

I mean I'm not standing when I hit quads!

I rest my arm at 90 degrees on my computer chair.

X2.

Where, exactly, are you pinning on the deltoid muscle itself?

When I pin delts, I kneel in front of my bathroom counter and lay my arm down prone on the counter across my body, then I rest my injecting arm on that. It's similar to crossing your arms and resting them on something in front of you.

It relaxes your delt, and is quite comfortable.