T Nation

Muscle Soreness

I was wondering what people’s opinions are on working out even if you have residual soreness from the last workout. I try to train each body part 3 times a week, but sometimes after just one day of rest I am still sore. Especially my legs since often on the day off I do some cardio. Is it more effective to take 72 hours off rather than 48?

Thanks.

You can work every body part every day if you want to. It’s usually better to vary rep/set scheme’s, angles, movements, etc., if you do. The key is having a recovered CNS, rather than no muscle soreness.

I’ve found that working out while sore (that is, DOMS) will actually eliminate the soreness for me. Don’t know why.

I’ve always liked being just a LITTLE sore. Not like the first week back after a long hiatus, but where you feel it when you poke on your muscle or flex. It’s probably a carry-over from when I started lifting and got the “that’s your muscles telling you they are growing” advice from the big guys at the gym that press " 'bout 4 hunnert".

Any time that I hit a body part when it’s still sore, it seems to work out the soreness (with the exception of the overly intense workouts that I probably overdid it on).

However, as I understand you, you are only taking a day off per body part. This doesn’t seem like you are giving your muscles time to recover and grow. Forgive me if I misunderstand you, but I’d give at least a couple of days of recovery between hitting any body part so that your muscles have adequate recovery time.
Just my 2 cents.

[quote]mj1 wrote:
I was wondering what people’s opinions are on working out even if you have residual soreness from the last workout. I try to train each body part 3 times a week, but sometimes after just one day of rest I am still sore. Especially my legs since often on the day off I do some cardio. Is it more effective to take 72 hours off rather than 48?

Thanks.[/quote]