Muscle Soreness

I’m really just throwing this out there as it came up in a discussion last night at my gym.

We all (probably) realize that muscle soreness isn’t an indicator of muscle growth, BUT, have you ever had certain muscle groups that just never seem to get sore?

This got me thinking, did those muscle groups respond in terms of growth just as well as other muscles groups? Possibly better? Horribly worse?

Were you able to ever isolate anything specifically about the way you trained said muscle groups that could have possibly contributed to the effects you experienced?

Wondering purely out of my own curiosity.

S

I have noticed that I got more growth in muscles that I get doms when I was a beginner and more in muscles that I didn’t get doms in once I was more experienced. I think this is due to an increased mind muscle connection with that muscle.

I do not think that a stronger mmc leads to more doms but rather that doms lead to a better mmc. Ever have doms and flex it randomly through the day just for fun? I know I do haha. I think this flexing of the muscle to “feel” the doms leads to a better mmc which in turn allows one to recruit it better which leads to better growth.

I do think that that has a limited effect though. I feel its more useful for beginners to get doms on a fairly significant scale to help devolop mmc. Training with doms also helps develop mmc i have found. However once a trainee has reached a certain training age he is able to recruit a muscle fairly damn well. Then I think the benefit of doms exhausts itself.

I think muscles that do not get doms (while having a good mmc) have adapted to recovering faster/better which leads to a capacity for more work which when performed will lead to more growth.

This post is very much bro-science and could very well be complete bullshit. Just some thoughts I had.

edited