Muscle Size vs. Muscle Strength

hey, im new to this site, but i’ve been working our for more than 6 months now…i still dont know the difference in number of reps/sets between gaining muscle size and muscle strength. can someone please shed some light on this. thanks

yea im new too, i woudlnt really no much but there are certain exercises that build alot of muscle strength and less size.

iv been to the gym 5 times iv been asking people about there exercises and iv noticed the people that do reps get bigger and stronger and people and do continues exercises dont get as big muscle but its strong.

hope this helps, dont know if its true but thats what i noticed

It is fairly well accepted that to gain strength, lower reps should be used, from 1-5 reps. To add mass calls for slightly higher reps, around 6-10. “Toning” as its called, calls for rep ranges around 10-15. This is a confusing word for it since you can’t “tone” a particular part, but you burn more calories with higher reps so you tone your body in general. You cannot tone only one part, just like doing 100 crunches won’t tone your abs.

[quote]JKThreeEleven17 wrote:
It is fairly well accepted that to gain strength, lower reps should be used, from 1-5 reps. To add mass calls for slightly higher reps, around 6-10. “Toning” as its called, calls for rep ranges around 10-15. This is a confusing word for it since you can’t “tone” a particular part, but you burn more calories with higher reps so you tone your body in general. You cannot tone only one part, just like doing 100 crunches won’t tone your abs.[/quote]

Don’t use the word tone ever again.

And that rep scheme isn’t entirely true.

Total volume and load are more important than the # of reps in a set.

10 sets of 3 is known for inducing hypertrophy as well.

Please don’t dispense half truths.

If you want a nice mix of strength/hypertrophy use a 5X5 5 sets of 5 reps with one of the big lifts, squat, deadlift or bench.