Muscle Fibers

Ok im kinda confused with regards to all the slow twitch/fast twitch stuff.

Basically here is my situation. Ive been training for a couple years using predominantly heavy weights (1-5 reps). Its very rare that i ever venture over 8 reps. However its been pointed out to me that after using an 80% of 1RM test in bench press, that i am definitely slow twitch dominant. So does this mean ive been using a much less effective rep scheme for me all this time? My main goal has always been strength so i like to go low reps. But do i have all these untapped slow twitch fibers that i havent been using?? Are the slow twitch fibers ONLY worked when you use higher reps?? Thats where im all confused!!

I’m sure someone will correct me if I’m wrong about this… As far as I know the slow/fast twitch thing is just a theory or model or something and it hasn’t been proven.

IMO ‘long-twitch’ sounds like a euphamism for a “non-responder” or hard-gainer type of person. Not bashing anyone here, I am definitly not a genetic freak AND I have always been better at endurance sports…

Someone enlighten us with your scientific knowledge.