T Nation

Muscle-Building Workouts for O-Lifters?

I’ve been lifting seriously for about 3 years now, mostly using various bodybuilding type programs, and have just started to focus on Oly Weightlifting training. I train with a coach 3 days a week, M/W/F, and my workouts usually consist of Snatch or C+J, pulls, and squats.

I was wondering if anyone had suggestions on extra work I could do to add upper-body muscle. I read Thibs suggests doing 15 mins of “beach work” after each workout, but wanted to see if anyone had ideas for extra workouts to do, maybe Tues and Sat. Thanks.

I have only been doing the Olifts for about 6 months so i am not the most knowledgeable but my coach has told me this.

If you want to focus on the the olifts then go MWF and do them. On the other days do the olifts with just the bar. You really have to get those movement patterns ingrained in your head. If you try to work chest and back like i have of the other days your shoulders will take a beating and you won’t be flexable. It has held me back thus far had i have stopped.

Snatch and C&J take years to become really proficient. If this is the road you want to take then do it 100%.

Good Luck

Good advice above.

If your new to O-lifts, your upper body is gonna grow. BB workouts are so different. Snatches, jerks, push presses, ect, are gonna make your upper body explode if your eating enough.

Maybe just throw in an assistance day, or during your warm-ups work some pushups and BW rows.

O-lifts can make you grow big, but you gotta find the right intensity/volume for growth.