T Nation

Multiple Sets of Low Reps

When you guys train with multiple sets of low reps (like 6x2or 8x3 or anything like that), how does this work exactly?

Usually the same weight is used for all of the sets, right?

Are you supposed to fail on any of these sets? Like the last rep of the last set?

How do you progress on this style of training? Because I imagine it would be pretty hard to add 5 pounds to all of your sets each week.

The purpose of those sets is to work a shit lload of volume WITHOUT having to go to fail. I think the term im trying to reach is steady progression in the sense that if your doing 6x2 @ 225lb bench for example, complete it. Next session, do 5x2 and on the sixth set do 3 reps. Continue until it is 6x3, then go to 235 for 6x2

I train more or less how you describe. Multiple sets of low reps, and same weight for all work sets.

I have limited experience but for what it's worth I think the key to progression here is to start the cycle of training with all of your sets using a certain weight, and then increasing the weight used the following workout for as many sets as possible. For example :

Week 1: 300 pound squat 6 sets of 2.

In the workout following this, it might not be possible for you yet to get 305 for 6 sets of 2 so instead you could do,

Week 2: 305 pound squat 3 sets of 2 followed by 300 pound squat 3 sets of 2.

You bump the weight for a few sets while keeping it the same as the previous week for the remainder, this is still a PR. The following week you might be strong enough to do,

Week 3: 305 pound squat 6 sets of 2

I progress this way if it's not possible to do the prescribed sets using the same weight.

Also, I don't think failure is advised when working with such a high percentage of max as is advocated with multiple sets of low reps.

My 20 cents worth.

Edit: Pipes' suggested method is also a very effective way of measuring progression.