Muay Thai & BJJ or Muay Thai & Judo

I am looking at a gym that offers both Muay Thai and BJJ. The cost is about $185 monthly. Given my schedule, I would be able to train in Muay Thai and BJJ 4 times per week and wrestling (which they offer) 1 time per week. This gym has a lot of amateur and pro muay thai fighters with good records.

As for the Judo club, they only offer Judo but the coaches are world class and a former Olympian. I work in law enforcement and mostly all law enforcement individuals recommend Judo over all other arts. The problem with this club, however, is that they charge $500 for 20 classes. If I were to go 3 times per week, I am looking at spending $250 per month for Judo as opposed to the other gym which offers Muay Thai, BJJ and Wrestling for $185 per month.

The only reason I am considering the Judo club is because they are world class. Do you guys think I should supplement the Muay Thai and BJJ with some Judo or stick with learning two arts first? I know Judo is better than BJJ for law enforcement.

maybe if you join the bjj/wrestleing club you could try and see if anyone in the class wants to practice throws and stuff before or after class or ask the instructors if they can do a bit more on the judo side once or twice a week. Where i train we do very little stand up things in the bjj classes. but if you combine the wrestling and try get good at a few chokes then that could be pretty good and maybe do a class of judo every now and then.

I do BJJ but I recommend you learn Judo. For street application, I find it preferable - BJJ focuses on ground stuff which, frankly, often becomes unnecessary after you throw someone on concrete. That being said - if the BJJ gym teaches solid takedown skills that are applicable on hard surfaces*, go for it.

*the tournament style double leg takedown, for instance, requires you to forcibly put down a knee onto the ground - I’d rather not try that without a mat.

[quote]fearnloathingnyc wrote: